Monday: Debate on B.C. tanker ban

Monday: Debate on B.C. tanker ban

UPDATED October 2, 2017 9:35amET


Debate begins on government legislation to formally prohibit oil tanker traffic along British Columbia’s north coast, including Haida Gwaii.

Bill C-48 would ban “oil tankers that are carrying more than 12 500 metric tons of crude oil or persistent oil as cargo from stopping, or unloading crude oil or persistent oil, at ports or marine installations located along British Columbia’s north coast from the northern tip of Vancouver Island to the Alaska border. The Act prohibits loading if it would result in the oil tanker carrying more than 12 500 metric tons of those oils as cargo.

Not included in the proposed moratorium: liquefied natural gas, gasoline, naphtha, jet fuel, and propane.

Bill S-226, the so-called “Magnitsky Law” to allow sanctions against human rights violators, is at report stage in the House of Commons following committee amendments. The government announced its support for the bill in May.

Before those debates, Parliament Hill sees the installation ceremony of Julie Payette as Governor General of Canada. The House of Commons will sit at 2pm ET / 11am PT.

In committee:

  • The Commons health committee considers amendments to the marijuana bill (C-45). LIVE ONLINE 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT
  • Senator Murray Sinclair is among the witnesses on Motion M-103 at the Commons heritage committee.
  • The Senate human rights committee continues to study the Rohingya. LIVE ONLINE 4pm ET / 1pm PT
  • The Senate agriculture committee visits Halifax for a hearing on the effects of climate change.

Here’s Mark Sutcliffe with more Today in Politics:

-Andrew Thomson

TOP PHOTO: A group of protesters outside the Northern Gateway pipeline hearings in Prince Rupert, B.C. in December 2012. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward