Monday: MPs return to House of Commons

Monday: MPs return to House of Commons

UPDATED September 18, 2017 9:29amET


MPs return to the House of Commons for the first sitting since June 21.

Watch question period live at 2:15pm ET / 11:15am PT

With the recent death of Liberal MP Arnold Chan and the resignations of Conservatives Rona Ambrose and Denis Lebel, the speaker will have three vacancies to announce, respectively: Scarborough–Agincourt (ON), Sturgeon River–Parkland (AB), and Lac-Saint-Jean (QC). By-elections for those last two ridings are scheduled for Monday, Oct. 23.

In terms of legislation, MPs begin the fall sitting with second-reading debate on Bill C-21, introduced in June 2016 to establish information collection for those exiting Canada.

In committee:

  • The Commons trade committee resumes its study of North American trade corridors. LIVE ONLINE 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT
  • Liberal MP Iqra Khalid goes before the heritage committee to discuss M-103, her motion on “systemic racism and religious discrimination” that provoked heated debate earlier this year. MPs also hear from the RCMP and government officials.
  • The ethics committee hears testimony from Daniel Therrien, the federal privacy commissioner, on the privacy of Canadians at airports, border crossings, and travelling in the United States.

Meanwhile, British Prime Minister Theresa May is on Parliament Hill today. She and Prime Minister Justin Trudeau hold a joint news conference at 12:30pm ET / 9:30am PT.

More on Today in Politics with Mark Sutcliffe:

-Andrew Thomson