Monday: Tanker Bill Returns to Commons

Monday: Tanker Bill Returns to Commons

THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward

UPDATED April 30, 2018 10:47amET


Debate continues on government legislation to formally prohibit oil tanker traffic along British Columbia’s north coast, including Haida Gwaii.

Bill C-48 would ban “oil tankers that are carrying more than 12 500 metric tons of crude oil or persistent oil as cargo from stopping, or unloading crude oil or persistent oil, at ports or marine installations located along British Columbia’s north coast from the northern tip of Vancouver Island to the Alaska border. The Act prohibits loading if it would result in the oil tanker carrying more than 12 500 metric tons of those oils as cargo.

Not included in the proposed moratorium: liquefied natural gas, gasoline, naphtha, jet fuel, and propane.

The bill returned from the transport committee with one minor amendment.

Meanwhile, two Senate committees continue to look at the cannabis bill: Social Affairs (10:30am ET / 7:30am PT) and Legal Affairs (in camera at 2pm ET / 11am PT). WATCH LIVE

And Finance Minister Bill Morneau is at the Commons status of women committee for questions on the 2018 budget. LIVE ONLINE at 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT.

-Andrew Thomson