Watch and Read: carbon pricing, climate change, and federalism

photo of centre block of Parliament Hill

Watch and Read: carbon pricing, climate change, and federalism

May 18, 2017 5:20pmET

The federal government has reaffirmed its right to impose a carbon price on provinces and territories without their own systems.

Here’s what Environment Minister Catherine McKenna told reporters earlier today:

Watch tonight’s PrimeTime Politics (8pm ET / 5pm PT) as Saskatchewan Environment Minister Scott Moe offers reaction to Peter Van Dusen. Pierre Donais also looks at carbon pricing on Revue politique (7:30pm ET / 4:30pm PT).

Ottawa released a discussion paper today that argues:

“The Government of Canada is proposing a federal carbon pricing option that will only apply in provinces that do not have a system of their own … This federal option is composed of two elements:

  • A levy on fossil fuels that will increase annually.
  • Measures to price pollution from industry. This sets limits on pollution, and will ensure that the more an industrial facility pollutes above its limit, the more it will pay. The more a facility reduces its emissions below the limit, the more it can earn by selling credits to less efficient competitors.”

The government also released a more detailed technical document:

Canada’s first ministers, Sasaktchewan aside, agreed in December 2016 to a national framework on climate change and carbon pricing.

British Columbia, concerned about the equality of carbon pricing measures across Canada, was a late signatory.

Saskatchewan Premier Brad Wall repeated his concern about the resource sector in opposing the agreement.

Watch McKenna’s full news conference:

NDP Leader Thomas Muclair and environment critic Linda Duncan offered criticism of the government’s plan:

-Andrew Thomson