Thursday: Conservative Opposition Day Focused on Autism

Thursday: Conservative Opposition Day Focused on Autism

UPDATED May 18, 2017 9:22amET

It’s an opposition day for Conservatives in the House of Commons. The party has this motion from Alberta MP Mike Lake, whose son Jaden has autism and has long advocated for autism awareness and research:

That, given that:

(a) Autism Spectrum Disorder (“autism”) is widely considered the fastest growing neurological disorder in Canada, impacting an estimated 1 in 68 children;

(b) it is a lifelong diagnosis that manifests itself in a wide-range of symptoms, including difficulty communicating, social impairments, and restricted and repetitive behaviour;

(c) individuals with autism and their families face unique challenges over their lifespan, often leading to families in crisis situations;

and (d) Autism Spectrum Disorder is not just a health issue — it has overarching implications for Canadian society as a whole;

accordingly, the House call on the government to grant the $19 million over 5 years requested by the Canadian Autism Partnership working group, Self-Advocates advisory group, and the Canadian Autism Spectrum Disorders Alliance, in order to establish a Canadian Autism Partnership that would support families and address key issues such as information sharing and research, early detection, diagnosis and treatment.

Bill S-233 is also debated by MPs for the first time.

In committee:

  • Innovation, Science and Economic Development Minister Navdeep Bains and Small Business and Tourism Minister Bardish Chagger discuss estimates at the Commons industry committee. Treasury Board President Scott Brison does the same at the government operations committee. LIVE ONLINE 8:45am ET / 5:45am PT
  • Madeleine Meilleur, the government’s nominee for official languages commissioner, appears at the languages committee. LIVE ONLINE 11am ET / 8am PT
  • Government officials brief the finance committee on the budget implementation bill (C-44). LIVE ONLINE 11am ET / 8am PT
  • The Senate legal affairs committee considers amendments to Bill C-16. LIVE ONLINE 10:30am ET / 7:30am PT

-Andrew Thomson