Thursday: Finance Minister at Committee

Thursday: Finance Minister at Committee

UPDATED September 27, 2017 8:52amET


Finance Minister Bill Morneau defends the government’s proposed tax changes for private corporations at the Commons finance committee. LIVE ONLINE 11:30am ET / 8:30am PT

Appearing ahead of Morneau are a variety of witnesses, including the Canadian Medical Association, Dairy Farmers of Canada, and the Canadian Federation of Independent Grocers.

Meanwhile, Bill C-47 returns to the House of Commons for more second-reading debate. The bill amends federal legislation to allow Canada’s accession to the Arms Trade Treaty.

MPs debate a motion that calls for a committee study of federally-funded health research.

Also in committee:

  • There’s a rare combined meeting of two committees – immigration and public safety – on asylum seekers entering Canada from the United States. MPs hear from the RCMP, CBSA, and government officials. LIVE ONLINE 8:45am ET / 5:45am PT
  • International Development Minister Marie-Claude Bibeau appears at the foreign affairs committee to discuss development finance. LIVE ONLINE 11am ET / 8am PT
  • At the human resources committee, Auditor General Michael Ferguson discusses his report on the Temporary Foreign Worker Program. LIVE ONLINE 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT
  • Democratic Institutions Minister Karina Gould discusses Bill C-50 at the procedure committee.
  • The indigenous affairs committee continues cross-country hearings in Quebec City.

Here’s more Today in Politics with Mark Sutcliffe:

-Andrew Thomson