Thursday: In the House and In Committee

Thursday: In the House and In Committee

May 31, 2018 6amET


Several government bills are on the order paper as the House of Commons continues with late sittings until the summer break.

Debate continues on a private member’s bill from Conservative MP Pierre Poilievre that would “ensure that persons with disabilities do not lose more through taxation and the reduction of benefits than they gain as a result of working.”

On the committee front:

  • Immigration Minister Ahmed Hussen is at the Commons immigration committee as part of the estimates process. LIVE ONLINE at 12pm ET / 9am PT
  • Felix Tshisekedi, leader of the Democratic Republic of Congo’s Union for Democracy and Social Progress (UDPS), testifies at the human rights subcommittee. Government officials, meanwhile, brief the foreign affairs committee on the D.R.C., Somalia, and South Sudan.
  • Stéphane Perreault, the acting chief electoral officer, briefs the Senate legal affairs committee on Bill C-76. LIVE ONLINE at 11am ET / 8am PT

-Andrew Thomson