Thursday: MPs question MMIWG commissioners

Thursday: MPs question MMIWG commissioners

UPDATED September 21, 2017 9:48amET


The indigenous affairs committee questions the commissioners heading the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls (MMIWG). LIVE ONLINE 11am ET / 8am PT

Appearing are chief commissioner Marion Buller along with Michèle Audette, Brian Eyolfson, and Qajaq Robinson. The group testified last night at a Senate committee.

Bill C-47, which amends federal legislation to allow Canada’s accession to the Arms Trade Treaty, is debated for the first time.

Debate resumes on Bill C-338 at second reading. The private member’s bill from Conservative MP Bob Saroya seeks to increase the minimum sentences for trafficking in “Schedule 1” controlled substances, including  fentanyl and other opioids, methamphetamine, and cocaine.

Also in committee:

  • Pre-budget consultations continue at the Commons finance committee. Today’s groups include the Canadian Medical Association and Canadian Federation of Independent Business; both are opposed to the government’s proposed tax changes for private corporations. LIVE ONLINE 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT
  • The Burma Task Force briefs the human rights subcommittee on the Rohingya, who have fled Myanmar by the hundreds of thousands amidst a government crackdown against the Muslim minority group.

-Andrew Thomson

TOP PHOTO: Delores Daniels holds a photo of her daughter Serena McKay, who was murdered earlier this year in Manitoba’s Sagkeeng First Nation, during a July 12 news conference calling for a re-organization of the MMIWG inquiry. THE CANADIAN PRESS/John Woods