Today in Politics: NDP Motion on Pharmacare

photo of centre block of Parliament Hill

Today in Politics: NDP Motion on Pharmacare

UPDATED October 5, 2017 9:08amET


The NDP has an opposition day in the House of Commons, with a focus on access to prescription drugs

Here is the full motion to be debated just after 10am ET / 7am PT:

That, given that millions of Canadians lack prescription drug coverage, and given that overwhelming evidence, including from the Parliamentary Budget Officer, has concluded that every Canadian could be covered by a universal pharmacare program while saving billions of dollars every year, the House call on the government to commence negotiations with the provinces no later than October 1, 2018, in order to implement a universal pharmacare program.

Bill C-349, which allows the government to establish a list of criminal organization and prohibit the wearing of their emblems, is debated at second reading The legislation, from Bloc MP Rhéal Fortin, is targeted at biker gangs. The government opposes the bill, citing Charter issues and the possibility of a clogged court system.

The government will also announce a joint suicide prevention strategy between the Canadian Armed Forces and Veterans Affairs Canada. Watch LIVE ONLINE at 12pm ET / 9am PT.

In committee:

  • Immigration Minister Ahmed Hussen and Public Safety Minister Ralph Goodale brief the Commons immigration committee on asylum seekers crossing the Canada-U.S. border. LIVE ONLINE at 8:45am ET / 5:45am PT
  • Auditor General Michael Ferguson returns to the public accounts committee to discuss his spring reports. LIVE ONLINE at 8:45am ET / 5:45am PT
  • Government House Leader Bardish Chagger answers questions on Bill C-24 at the government operations committee. LIVE ONLINE at 11am ET / 8am PT
  • Government officials brief the foreign affairs committee on the process for providing assistance to Canadians in difficulty abroad.

Here’s Mark Sutcliffe with more Today in Politics:

-Andrew Thomson