Thursday: Conservative Motion on India Controversy, Senate Vote on C-45

Thursday: Conservative Motion on India Controversy, Senate Vote on C-45

UPDATED March 22, 2018 3:03pmET


It’s an opposition day in the House of Commons, with this Conservative motion on the Jaspal Atwal affair:

That, given the Prime Minister has supported a claim that the invitation issued to a convicted attempted murderer was the work of a foreign government attempting to interfere in Canadian foreign relations, while others in the government, including the Minister of Foreign Affairs, claimed that the invitation was an “honest mistake” on the part of the Canadian government, the House call upon the Prime Minister to instruct his National Security Advisor, Daniel Jean, to appear before the Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security to provide the Committee the same briefing he gave to journalists on February 23, 2018, and that the briefing take place in public and no later than March 30, 2018.

Conservative MPs O’Toole told reporters this morning that if the motion fails, their party will force a long night of voting in the House of Commons:

The controversy surrounding Jean also dominated the beginning of today’s question period:

Down the hall, senators are expected to vote on the cannabis bill at second reading this afternoon — amidst question about support among independent members of the upper chamber.

In committee:

  • Environment Minister Catherine McKenna and Natural Resources Minister Jim Carr discuss Bill C-69 at the Commons environment committee. LIVE ONLINE at 11am ET / 8am PT
  • At the public accounts committee, Auditor General Michael Ferguson answers questions on his 2017 report on oral health programs for First Nations and Inuit communities. LIVE ONLINE at 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT

-Andrew Thomson