Thursday: NDP Motion on Residential Schools and Papal Apology

Thursday: NDP Motion on Residential Schools and Papal Apology

UPDATED April 26, 2018 10:10amET


An NDP opposition day motion wants MPs to support calls for a formal papal apology on residential schools.

Here is the motion to be introduced this morning by northern Ontario MP Charlie Angus, just after 10am ET / 7am PT:

That, in responding to the call of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission to move our nation on a path of true healing for the crimes of the residential school era, the House:

(a) invite Pope Francis to participate in this journey with Canadians by responding to Call to Action 58 of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s report and issue a formal papal apology for the role of the Canadian Catholic Church in the establishment, operations, and abuses of the residential schools;

(b) call upon the Canadian Catholic Church to live up to their moral obligation and the spirit of the 2006 Indian Residential School Settlement Agreement and resume best efforts to raise the full amount of the agreed upon funds; and

(c) call on the Catholic entities that were involved in the running of the residential schools to make a consistent and sustained effort to turn over relevant documents when called upon by survivors of residential schools, their families, and scholars working to understand the full scope of the horrors of the residential school system in the interest of truth and reconciliation.

The Canadian Conference of Catholic Bishops released a letter last month saying Pope Francis could “not personally respond” in such a fashion. Another document from the bishops, written in response to the above motion, says the decision “stems from the fact that each Bishop, aware of local needs and aspirations, is best positioned as the principal faith leader and pastor of his diocese to take concrete steps toward reconciliation.”

Watch live:

Meanwhile, legislation from Liberal MP Bill Casey to develop a “national strategy for the repatriation of aboriginal cultural property” is debated for the first time (C-391).

In committee:

  • MPs on the ethics committee hear from political science professors and the Mozilla Corporation as they continue studying the data scandal involving Facebook and Cambridge Analytica. LIVE ONLINE at 8:45am ET / 5:45am PT
  • The Senate social affairs committee hears more testimony on the cannabis legislation, while the legal affairs committee meets in camera to consider its report on Bill C-45. LIVE ONLINE at 10:30am ET / 7:30am PT

-Andrew Thomson