Thursday: Today in Politics

Thursday: Today in Politics

June 15, 2017

The House of Commons returns to two government bills at second reading: C-50 and C-49.

Also on the order paper: Bill C-51, which updates various sections of the Criminal Code, debated for the first time.

Bill C-311 is debated at third reading.

In committee:

  • MPs on the procedure committee question Government House Leader Bardish Chagger on proposed changes to the House of Commons Standing Orders. LIVE ONLINE 11am ET/ 8am PT
  • The indigenous affairs committee considers amendments to Bill S-3.
  • Civil liberties groups testify at the ethics committee, which is studying privacy issues at border crossings, airports, and in the United States.
  • Treasury Board President Scott Brison discusses estimates at the Senate finance committee. LIVE ONLINE 8:30am ET / 5:30am PT
  • Marc-André Blanchard, Canada’s ambassador to the United Nations, appears at the Senate foreign affairs committee. LIVE ONLINE 11:30am ET / 8:30am PT

-Andrew Thomson