Today in Politics: Access to Information, In Committee, and the Podcast

Today in Politics: Access to Information, In Committee, and the Podcast

December 5, 2017 6amET


Access to Information

Bill C-58 is back on the House of Commons order paper at third reading.

Here’s more on the reaction when the government first proposed the reforms in June.

A parliamentary committee has since passed several amendments.

In Committee: Supreme Court Nominee

Sheilah Martin, the government’s nominee for the Supreme Court, answers questions from MPs and senators at a special hearing.

François Larocque of the University of Ottawa’s Faculty of Law will moderate the 2.5-hour session. LIVE ONLINE at 11am ET / 8am PT

Martin is a justice on the Courts of Appeal of Alberta, the Northwest Territories, and Nunavut. She would replace Beverley McLachlin, the retiring Chief Justice, on the Supreme Court.

In Committee: Bill C-59

Academic experts have their say on the government’s sweeping national security bill, which covers everything from CSIS anti-terrorism powers to the definition of propaganda.

The Commons public safety committee hears from Stephanie Carvin (Carleton University), Craig Forcese (University of Ottawa), and Wesley Wark (University of Ottawa). LIVE ONLINE at 8:45am ET / 5:45am PT


In Committee: Leaders’ Debates

CPAC president and general manager Catherine Cano and executive producer Peter Van Dusen are among today’s committee witnesses on the government’s proposal for an independent commissioner responsible for leaders’ debates during federal campaigns. LIVE ONLINE at 11am ET / 8am PT

The Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs also hears from The Globe and Mail, the Canadian National Institute for the Blind, the Canadian Association of the Deaf, and the Council of Canadians with Disabilities.

For decades, the country’s largest broadcasters were solely responsible for organizing the televised debates: the time, location, questions, and which leaders could participate.

Past disputes over which party leaders were eligible to take part led the 2015 Liberal platform to promise an “an independent commission to organize leaders’ debates and bring an end to partisan gamesmanship.”

That same year, the Conservative Party of Canada rejected the traditional consortium for a series of debates held by Maclean’sThe Globe and Mail, the Munk Debates, and the TVA network. (Although the broadcast consortium did organize a French-language debate.)


In Committee: Official Languages

Raymond Théberge, the government’s new nominee for official languages commissioner, testifies at the Commons official languages committee. LIVE ONLINE at 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT

Former Ontario cabinet minister Madeleine Meilleur withdrew her nomination in June after questions about her potential impartiality.



Don’t forget to listen to Mark Sutcliffe’s daily look at the top stories in Canadian politics:

-Andrew Thomson