Monday: Harassment Bill Debated as MPs Return

Monday: Harassment Bill Debated as MPs Return

UPDATED January 29, 2018 8:14amET


The House of Commons returns for its first sitting in nearly seven weeks. Watch the first question period of 2018 LIVE at 2:15pm ET / 11:15am PT.

What’s the first government bill on the order paper?

That would be Bill C-65, which introduces new Canada Labour Code provisions on harassment and violence prevention – including sexual harassment and sexual violence – that would extend to Parliament Hill.

The debate comes just after two major resignations for alleged sexual harassment or misconduct: federal cabinet minister Kent Hehr, and Ontario Progressive Conservative leader Patrick Brown.

Meanwhile, Foreign Affairs Minister Chrystia Freeland meets her American and Mexican counterparts at the NAFTA talks in Montreal. A joint news conference is scheduled for 11:20am ET / 8:20am PT, with Freeland then expected to speak to reporters on her own.

-Andrew Thomson

Want more Today in Politics? Here’s Mark Sutcliffe with his daily podcast: