Today in Politics and Podcast: Finance Ministers in Ottawa

Today in Politics and Podcast: Finance Ministers in Ottawa

December 11, 2017 6amET


Finance Minister Bill Morneau hosts his provincial and territorial colleagues in Ottawa.

A news conference is expected at 4:15pm ET / 1:15pm PT.

Last month the federal government confirmed its proposal of a 50-50 split of cannabis excise revenue. The provinces, however, argue they will bear more responsibility in implementing next year’s scheduled legalization — from health care to policing.

Selling and Taxing Marijuana: Ottawa and the Provinces

Here’s more of what to expect on Parliament Hill as the week begins:

  • The bill that cleans up various obsolete, redundant, or unconstitutional sections of the Criminal Code (C-51) is expected at report stage and third reading in the House of Commons. Also in the legislation: clarified language on sexual assault, and the requirement for a constitutional analysis to accompany each new government bill.
  • The public safety committee considers amendments to Bill C-66, which aims to expunge criminal convictions for consensual same-sex activity. The legislation was part of last month’s official apology for past federal treatment of LGBTQ2 Canadians.
  • Government officials brief the Commons trade committee on current negotiations. LIVE ONLINE at 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT
  • The bill to officially recognize Charlottetown as the “Birthplace of Confederation” (S-236) returns at third reading.
  • MPs vote on Bill C-24 at report stage. This would give full ministerial status and salary to several members of cabinet.

Listen to Mark Sutcliffe’s daily podcast for more Today in Politics:

-Andrew Thomson