Today in Politics and Podcast: Motion on Morneau, AG at Committee

photo of centre block of Parliament Hill

Today in Politics and Podcast: Motion on Morneau, AG at Committee

UPDATED November 23, 2017 9:12amET

The Conservatives use their opposition day motion to target Finance Minister Bill Morneau and the continuing questions about potential conflicts of interest.

Debate is expected to begin after 10am ET / 7am PT. Here’s the full text of the motion:

That the House agree with the Prime Minister’s statement in the House on November 1, 2017, that “sunshine is the best disinfectant”; and call on the Finance Minister to reveal all assets he has bought, sold or held within all his private companies or trust funds since he became Finance Minister, to determine if his financial interests have conflicted with his public duties.

MPs on the public accounts committee have their chance to question Auditor General Michael Ferguson on his latest reports — including the federal government’s troubled Phoenix pay system that has caused headaches for hundreds of thousands of civil servants.  LIVE ONLINE at 8:45am ET / 5:45am PT

Ferguson claimed the cost to fix Phoenix could rival the $1.2 billion CAD spent by Australia’s Queensland government on a similar pay problem.

Ferguson’s latest round of reports also touch on:

And be sure to check out the Today in Politics podcast with Mark Sutcliffe:

-Andrew Thomson