First Ministers in Ottawa

First Ministers in Ottawa

UPDATED October 3, 2017 7:34pmET


Prime Minister Justin Trudeau met premiers and Indigenous leaders today in Ottawa. The original agenda centered on economic development, but the federal government’s proposed tax changes figured large in discussion.

The looming legalization of marijuana also came up:

Watch the full news conference:

Some of the Indigenous leaders also spoke to reporters after their session with Trudeau:

Meanwhile, on Parliament Hill the Conservatives have the fall sitting’s first opposition day. Opposition Leader Andrew Scheer was among those speaking this morning in support of a motion on tax policy:

That, given the proposed changes to the taxation of private corporations as outlined in the Minister of Finance’s paper “Tax Planning Using Private Corporations” will have a drastic negative impact on small and medium sized local businesses, the House call on the government to continue, until January 31, 2018, its consultations on these measures.

Bill S-232 is debated at second reading. MPs also vote on Bill C-47 at second reading.

In the Senate, question period will see Finance Minister Bill Morneau visit the upper chamber. LIVE ONLINE at 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT

In committee:

  • The Commons health committee continues to consider amendments to the marijuana bill (C-45). LIVE ONLINE at 9am ET / 6am PT
  • Auditor General Michael Ferguson appears at the public accounts committee to discuss two spring reports. LIVE ONLINE at 8:45am ET / 5:45am PT
  • MPs on the status of women committee are scheduled to vote on a new chair, following last Tuesday’s walkout by Liberal and NDP members in protest of the Conservative nomination of Rachael Harder.
  • Public Safety Minister Ralph Goodale discusses Bill C-21 at the public safety committee.
  • Government officials brief the Senate finance committee on the proposed tax changes for private corporations. LIVE ONLINE at 9:30am ET / 6:30am PT

Here’s Mark Sutcliffe with more Today in Politics:

-Andrew Thomson