Tuesday: MPs Question Social Media Whistleblower

Tuesday: MPs Question Social Media Whistleblower

THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chris Donovan

May 29, 2018 6amET


Canadian whistleblower Christopher Wylie, who let the world know that British-based firm Cambridge Analytica collected data from 50 million Facebook profiles using a computer program he developed, appears via videoconference at the Commons ethics committee.

Watch live:

The Canadian committee is studying the implications of the “breach of personal information” involving 87 million people that made global headlines this spring as part of the Facebook/Cambridge Analytica personal data  controversy.

MPs already grilled Facebook executives over the data mining scandal that saw more than 600,000 Canadian Facebook users told their personal information was compromised through third party applications without their consent.

AggregateIQ executives already appeared before the committee last month. The Victoria, B.C.-based company has been connected to Cambridge Analytica, the “Vote Leave” Brexit campaign in the United Kingdom, and recent U.S. elections — especially after British committee testimony by Wylie.

Facebook has since suspended the firm from its platform. And the federal and B.C. privacy commissioners are cooperating on an investigation.

 

Also on the committee agenda:

Public Safety Minister Ralph Goodale and Immigration Minister Ahmed Hussen face questions on the federal response to asylum seekers entering Canada outside of official border crossings. LIVE ONLINE at 12pm ET / 9am PT

Defence Minister Harjit Sajjan discusses his department’s spending plans at the Commons defence committee. LIVE ONLINE at 8:45am ET / 5:45am PT

Foreign Affairs Minister Chrystia Freeland is also due at committee as part of the estimates process. LIVE ONLINE at 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT

And two ministers – Carolyn Bennett Crown-Indigenous Relations) and Jane Philpott (Indigenous Services) – are at the Standing Committee on Indigenous Affairs.

On Tuesday’s order paper in the House of Commons:

  • MPs are expected to return to the government’s justice reform bill (C-75) at second reading.
  • Bill C-262 is at report stage.

-Andrew Thomson