Tuesday: Emergency Debate on Rohingya

Tuesday: Emergency Debate on Rohingya

UPDATED September 26, 2017 9:36amET


The House of Commons has an emergency debate scheduled on Canada’s response to Myanmar’s crackdown against its Rohingya people — hundreds of thousands of whom have fled to Bangladesh as refugees.

The Speaker can grant a debate for “for the purpose of discussing a specific and important matter requiring urgent consideration,” according to the Standing Orders.

MPs can speak up to 20 minutes from any seat they like in the chamber, followed by 10 minutes of questions.

The debate is scheduled to begin at approx. 6:30pm ET / 3:30pm PT – WATCH LIVE

Earlier in the day, second-reading debate continues on the access to information bill (C-58).

The long-awaited reform package for the Access to Information Act arrived in late June, with immediate questions about whether the changes lived up to the 2015 Liberal platform — especially surrounding the Prime Minister’s Office and cabinet ministers.

MPs also return to a private member’s motion on Venezuela. Here is the full text, from Conservative MP Peter Kent:

That, in the opinion of the House, the extreme socialist policies and corruption of President Nicolas Maduro and his predecessor President Hugo Chavez have imposed considerable suffering on the people of Venezuela and therefore the House call upon the government to:

(a) develop a plan to provide humanitarian aid directly to Venezuela’s people, particularly with respect to alleviating the severe shortages of food and medical supplies;

(b) condemn the continued unjust imprisonment and treatment of political opponents who, as reported by Luis Almagro, Secretary General of the Organization of American States on March 14, 2017, “fear repression, torture, and even death”;

(c) call upon the Government of Venezuela to respect the right of the people of Venezuela to hold a free and fair referendum to restore democratic rule in their country;

and (d) recognize that Canada’s foreign policy should always be rooted in protecting and promoting freedom, democracy, human rights, and the rule of law.

In committee:

  • The Commons finance committee hears testimony on tax planning and private corporations, amidst the continuing political debate over potential changes. Witnesses include business and agriculture groups, unions, economists, and accountants. LIVE ONLINE 10am ET / 7am PT
  • Transport Minister Marc Garneau discusses Bill S-2 at the Commons transport committee. LIVE ONLINE 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT
  • The industry committee begins a statutory review of Canada’s anti-spam legislation, which came into force in 2014 and required a committee review after three years.

Listen to more Today in Politics with Mark Sutcliffe:

-Andrew Thomson