Wednesday: More Debate on Labour Bill

Wednesday: More Debate on Labour Bill

May 10, 2017 UPDATED 11:12amET

Bill C-4, the government’s labour legislation that would undo labour bills on certification and financial reporting passed by the previous Parliament, returns to the House of Commons for more debate after the Senate passed amendments. A time allocation motion from the government is expected this afternoon.

Debate continues on a genetically-modified food labeling bill (C-291).

The parties hold their weekly caucus meetings on Parliament Hill.

MPs also vote on Bill C-305 at third reading. The private member’s bill  would impose stronger Criminal Code penalties for graffiti and property damage relating to gender identity and sexual orientation. It would also place schools, daycare centres, sporting facilities, seniors residences, colleges, universities, and community centres under the mischief law, which currently only protects places of worship.

In committee:

  • Jean-Denis Fréchette, the parliamentary budget officer, answers questions on the budget implementation bill (C-44) at the finance committee. Appearing first is his predecessor, Kevin Page. LIVE ONLINE 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT
  • The public safety committee continues to study Bill C-23.
  • Veterans Affairs Minister Kent Hehr appears at the Senate veterans affairs subcommittee. LIVE ONLINE 12pm ET / 9am PT

-Andrew Thomson