Wednesday in the House of Commons, Senate

Wednesday in the House of Commons, Senate

UPDATED April 25, 2018 9:27amET


The House of Commons is expected to return to Bill C-55 at third reading.

The parties hold their weekly caucus meetings on Parliament Hill this morning.

In committee:

Senate committees continue to work on the cannabis bill (C-45).

Senators on the Legal Affairs LIVE ONLINE at 4:15pm ET / 1:15pm PTcommittee hear from parliamentary secretary Bill Blair and Quebec’s minister responsible for Canadian relations (Jean-Marc Fournier).

Social Affairs LIVE ONLINE at 3:15pm ET / 12:15pm PThas three hours scheduled to hear from groups that include Canadian Students for Sensible Drug Policy, Drug Free Kids Canada, and Smart Approaches to Marijuana Canada.

And Aboriginal Peoples considers a report on the bill.

CPAC In Focus: Selling and Taxing Marijuana

Also on today’s committee agenda:

  • National Energy Board president and CEO Peter Watson briefs the environment committee on Bill C-69, following testimony by First Nations chiefs. LIVE ONLINE at 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT
  • Public Safety Minister Ralph Goodale discusses Bill C-66 at the Senate human right committee. The legislation aims to expunge criminal convictions for consensual same-sex activity, via the Parole Board of Canada. About $4 million has been set aside over the next two fiscal years to allow the permanent destruction of criminal records, announced as part of the November 2017 federal apology for the past treatment of LGBTQ2 Canadians. LIVE ONLINE at 12pm ET / 9am PT
  • Infrastructure Minister Amarjeet Sohi appears at the Senate finance committee to respond to its report on federal spending. LIVE ONLINE at 6:45pm ET / 3:45pm PT
  • Bank of Canada governor Stephen Poloz is at the Senate banking committee. LIVE ONLINE at 4:15pm ET / 1:15pm PT