Malala becomes honorary Canadian

Malala becomes honorary Canadian

April 12, 2017 3:22pmET

Malala Yousafzai spoke to parliamentarians in the House of Commons chamber after receiving her honorary Canadian citizenship in person.

Watch her full speech and highlights: 


The 19-year-old Pakistan native is a Nobel Peace Prize recipient for her advocacy of education and rights for girls and women — work that led to a Taliban assassination attempt in 2012. She remains the youngest Nobel Peace Prize winner.

The House of Commons unanimously supported honorary citizenship for Yousafzai on Oct. 21, 2014.

She was to meet then-prime minister Stephen Harper in Toronto the next afternoon to receive the honour. The deadly attack on the National War Memorial and Parliament Hill forced a cancellation.

Only five others have received honorary Canadian citizenship: Raoul Wallenberg, Nelson Mandela, the 14th Dalai Lama, Aung San Suu Kyi, and the Aga Khan.

Malala Yousafszai spoke at the United Nations on her 16th birthday in July 2013, just months after the attempt on her life:

Here is the motion to give honorary citizenship from October 2014:

The House of Commons will have an abbreviated one-hour sitting for members’ statements and question period at 3pm ET / 12pm PT.

In committee:

Bank of Canada governor Stephen Poloz appears at the Commons finance committee. LIVE ONLINE 4:15pm ET / 1:15pm PT

Gen. Jonathan Vance, chief of the defence staff, briefs the Senate veterans affairs subcommittee on the transition process for those leaving the military. LIVE ONLINE 12pm ET / 9am PT

Health Minister Jane Philpott discusses Bill S-5 at the Senate social affairs committee. LIVE ONLINE 4:15pm ET / 1:15pm PT

-Andrew Thomson