Wednesday: Today in Politics

Wednesday: Today in Politics

September 20, 2017 6amET


The House of Commons returns to bills S-2 and C-21.

The parties also hold their regular Wednesday caucus meetings on Parliament Hill.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is in New York for a series of events and meetings, one day ahead of tomorrow’s address to the United Nations General Assembly.

In committee:

  • The heritage committee continues to hear witnesses on Motion M-103. Today’s list includes Tarek Fatah (columnist and founder of the Muslim Canadian Congress) and Renu Mandhane, chief commissioner of the Ontario Human Rights Commission.
  • The finance committee continues pre-budget consultations. LIVE ONLINE 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT
  • The Senate Aboriginal Peoples committee hears from the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls: chief commissioner Marion Buller and commissioners Michèle Audette, Brian Eyolfson, and Qajaq Robinson. LIVE ONLINE 6:45pm ET / 3:45pm PT

Here’s Mark Sutcliffe with more Today in Politics:

-Andrew Thomson