Wednesday: Today in Politics

Wednesday: Today in Politics

UPDATED September 27, 2017 9:40amET


The government’s ocean protection bill (C-55) arrives on the Commons floor for second-reading debate, following question period this afternoon.

The legislation allows the minister to designate “marine protected areas” and restrict energy projects, as well as increase enforcement power against prohibited shipping and other activities.

The access to information (C-58) and border data collection (C-21) bills have second-reading votes this afternoon.

MPs also vote on Bill C-338 at second reading. The private member’s bill seeks to increase the minimum sentences for trafficking in “Schedule 1” controlled substances, including  fentanyl and other opioids, methamphetamine, and cocaine.

Debate also continues on Bill C-345, which aims to improve occupational safety for pregnant or nursing employees.

In committee:

  • The Commons heritage committee returns to its study of Motion M-103. LIVE ONLINE 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT
  • Pre-budget consultation continues at the finance committee. LIVE ONLINE 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT
  • CBSA and CATSA officials answer questions at the ethics committee on privacy issues for Canadians at airports, border crossings, and travelling in the United States.
  • The justice committee continues to consider Bill C-46.
  • The indigenous affairs committee visits Winnipeg for a hearing on specific claims and comprehensive land claims agreements.
  • The Senate human rights committee hears from the Rohingya Association of Canada, Bangladeshi High Commissioner Mizanur Rahman, the United Nations, and NGOs about the hundreds of thousands of Rohingya people who have fled to Bangladesh amidst a Myanmar government crackdown. LIVE ONLINE 11:30am ET / 8:30am PT

Here’s Mark Sutcliffe with more Today in Politics:

-Andrew Thomson