Wednesday: Today in Politics

photo of centre block of Parliament Hill

Wednesday: Today in Politics

May 3, 2017 6amET

The budget implementation bill (C-44) is on the order paper.

MPs have several votes, including a concurrence motion on Bill C-226 and a private member’s bill from Conservative MP Brad Trost on CBC privatization.

Bill C-305 is considered at report stage.

The parties hold their weekly caucus meetings on Parliament Hill this morning.

In committee:

  • National Revenue Minister Diane Lebouthillier answers question on the Canada Revenue Agency’s main estimates at the Commons finance committee. LIVE ONLINE 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT
  • Auditor General Michael Ferguson discusses military recruitment and retention at the public accounts committee. LIVE ONLINE 3:30pm ET / 12:30pm PT
  • The immigration committee examines the results of a 2011 pilot project to help LGBTQ refugees fleeing persecution because of their sexual orientation.
  • Auditor General Michael Ferguson also appears at the Senate human rights committee, to discuss prisoner rights and the correctional system. LIVE ONLINE 11:30am ET / 8:30am PT
  • Jean-Denis Fréchette, the parliamentary budget officer, is at the Senate transport committee on the issue of federal infrastructure funding. LIVE ONLINE 6:45pm ET / 3:45pm PT

-Andrew Thomson