Aboriginal Peoples – October 5, 2011

In Committee from the Senate of Canada

Aboriginal Peoples – October 5, 2011

Appearance: Mary Simon

Committee members continue their examination of the federal government’s constitutional and legal responsibilities to Canada’s Aboriginal Peoples.

Mary Simon, the president of the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, appears before the committee to discuss the Inuit Education Accord, which identified seven key areas of focus for improving Inuit education.

Ms. Simon is questioned by committee members Gerry St. Germain (the chair of the committee), Terry Stratton (Conservative), Dennis Patterson (Conservative), Lillian Dyck (Liberal), Nick Sibbeston (Liberal), Don Meredith (Conservative), and Nancy Ruth (Conservative).