In Committee from the Senate of Canada

Loading video...

In Committee from the Senate of Canada - National Finance – November 29, 2011

Appearances: Ted Menzies, Gérard Lalonde, Ted Cook, Colin Bird, François Rivest, Patrick Halley, Wendy Guard, Steven Bell, Mireille Larouche, Mark Hodgson, David Swol, Blair Hammond, Atiq Rahman

The committee begins its study of Bill C-13, an implementation bill for the 2011 budget. Senators hear testimony from Ted Menzies (Minister of State for Finance) and from officials from the Foreign Affairs and International Development Canada, the Department of Finance, the Canadian Border Services Agency, Human Resources and Skills Development Canada, and the Canada Revenue Agency. The witnesses discuss various measures contained in the budget, including new hiring credits for small businesses, tax incentives for clean energy generation, the simplification of customs tariffs, amendments to the Income Tax Act, changes to the Employment Insurance Act, and federal financial assistance for students.

A number of senators participate in the discussion, including Joseph A. Day (the chair of the committee), Irving Gerstein (the deputy chair of the committee), Catherine Callbeck (Liberal), Daniel Lang (Conservative), Nancy Ruth (Conservative), Pierrette Ringuette (Liberal), Bob Runciman (Conservative), Pierre Claude Nolin (Conservative), and Elizabeth Marshall (Conservative).

more less

Related Videos

Headline Politics

Ministers Comment on LNG...

Natural Resources Minister Jim Carr, Environment Minister Catherine McKenna, and Fisheries Minister Dominic LeBlanc speak with reporters...


September 28, 2016

Environment Minister Catherine McKenna, Natural Resources Minister Jim Carr discuss the federal government's decision to approve the...

Revue Politique

September 28, 2016

The One Young World (OYW) Summit begins in Ottawa. Tomorrow’s young leaders and international key figures will gather during three days...


September 27, 2016

Public Safety Minister Ralph Goodale, Defence Minister Harjit Sajjan, NDP Leader Thomas Mulcair, and Parliamentary Secretary Michel Picard...