National Finance – May 28, 2013

In Committee from the Senate of Canada

National Finance – May 28, 2013

National Finance

Senior officials Soren Halverson (Finance Canada), Janet Kavanagh (Transport Canada), Denis Racine (Heritage Canada), Eric Ward (Privy Council Office), Christian Laverdure (Public Works and Government Services Canada), and David Belovich (Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat) go over the details of certain divisions of the budget implementation bill (C-60).

The last division that senators are briefed on is a controversial measure that gives new powers for the Treasury Board to oversee collective bargaining negotiations involving Crown corporations such as the CBC and Canada Post.

UPDATE: Bill C-60 received royal assent on June 26.