In Committee from the Senate of Canada

Loading video...

In Committee from the Senate of Canada - Legal and Constitutional Affairs - June 11, 2014

Conservative MP Mark Warawa discusses his private member’s bill C-489, also called the Safe at Home Bill. He was inspired to draft the legislation after two victims’ families from his riding of Langley. B.C., brought their experiences to his attention. In both cases the sex offenders of their children were permitted to serve house arrest in their neighbourhood. One offender lived across the street from his victim, while the other lived next door.
Bill C-489 would prohibit child sexual offenders from living or coming within two kilometres of a victim’s home. All criminal offenders subject to parole or conditional sentences will also be under strict conditions not to contact their victim, unless the victim consents or if there are exceptional circumstances.
Heidi Illingworth, executive director of the Canadian Resource Centre for Victims of Crime, Kim Pate, executive director of the Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies, Catherine Latimer, executive director of the John Howard Society of Canada, and Alain Fortier, president of the Victimes d’agressions sexuelles au masculin (VASAM), present their views of the bill during the second panel. (June 11, 2014) UPDATE: BillC-489 received royal assent on June 19.

more less

Related Videos

Question Period

October 27, 2016

Transport Minister Marc Garneau and John McKay (Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of National Defence) address the Conservative...

Revue Politique

October 26, 2016

In Belgium, negotiations continue in order to wrap up the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement between Canada and the European Union....

PrimeTime Politics

October 26, 2016

Peter Van Dusen has the latest details on the Canada-European Union trade agreement (CETA). Green Leader Elizabeth May and law professor...

In Committee From The House Of Commons

Special Committee on...

MPs hear from Bruce Fitch (interim leader of the Progressive Conservative Party of New Brunswick), Jerry Dias (Unifor national president),...