CPAC

Perspective with Alison Smith

Share this page:
 
 
 

Sunday at 10:30 AM ET / 7:30 AM PT, 12 PM ET / 9 AM PT and 8 PM ET / 5 PM PT
CPAC’s foreign affairs show, Perspective with Alison Smith, examines events from around the world that matter to Canadians. With contributions from the field and expert analysis, each week we break down the most relevant global issues to better understand Canada`s role in the world and how the world sees us.



more less

About Alison Smith

About Alison Smith

Alison Smith is one of Canada’s best known and respected broadcast journalists. As an anchor and reporter for more than three decades, she was a senior award-winning member of the CBC News team. She has reported from every Canadian province and territory and across the globe.

She has hosted a wide range of network TV and radio news programs including The National, CBC News Morning and CBC Radio’s The World at Six. As a live news anchor, reporter and foreign correspondent, some of the stories she has covered include the September 11th attacks, the death of Princess Diana, elections in Israel, South Africa and Mexico and as Washington correspondent, she covered the historic election of US President Barack Obama.

She is a multiple Gemini nominee and has won international recognition for her work including a Gracie Award from the Alliance for Women in Media, a Friendship Award from South African Women for Women, and was named a Woman of Achievement by Hadassah-WIZO Canada. She was educated at the University of British Columbia and Ryerson University. She is also the recipient of an Honorary Doctor of Laws from Okanagan University College (now UBC Okanagan).

more less

Related Videos

In Committee From The House Of Commons

Subcommittee on...

The committee begins its study on the human rights situation in South Sudan. Edmond Wega, acting director general of Global Affairs...

PrimeTime Politics

February 16, 2017

Peter Van Dusen welcomes Belgian ambassador Raoul Delcorde to discuss what comes next for the Canada-E.U. trade agreement (CETA). More on...

In Committee from the Senate of Canada

Legal and Constitutional...

Editors and executives from some of the country’s largest news organizations speak in favour of a bill that aims to protect confidential...

Headline Politics

News Conference –...

International Trade Minister François-Philippe Champagne speaks with reporters in Strasbourg, France, on February 15, 2017, after a vote...