June 19, 2009

Host Martin Stringer reviews the spring sitting of Parliament as MPs return to their ridings and the House of Commons recesses for the summer.

Martin looks back on the spring parliamentary session with a panel of MPs, including Dean Del Mastro (Conservative), Martha Hall Findlay (Liberal), and Peter Julian (NDP).

Journalists Susan Lunn and John Ivison join Martin in the studio for an overview of the major news stories from the 2nd sitting of the 40th Parliament.

In the House of Commons foyer, Liberal MP Bob Rae, Bloc Québécois leader Gilles Duceppe, and NDP leader Jack Layton speak with reporters about the week’s political highlights.

Green Party leader Elizabeth May holds a press conference to analyze the spring parliamentary session, focusing on the second report on Canada’s Economic Action Plan, which was released on June 11, 2009.

National Defence Minister Peter MacKay presents the keynote address at the 2009 Canadians of the Year Award, hosted by the Canadian Club of Toronto. This year’s ceremony honours members of the Canadian Armed Forces.

Justice Minister Rob Nicholson and Public Safety Minister Peter Van Loan announce the tabling of bills C-51 and C-47 under the Investigative Powers for the 21st Century Act. This act allows police to monitor the internet usage of civilians.


image - Martin Stringer

Martin Stringer

Having covered the Canadian political scene for more than 25 years, Martin is as politically astute as he is savvy. He joined CPAC in 1996 and has covered leadership races, political conventions and federal elections, serving as PrimeTime Politics’ Hill correspondent daily and host of the show’s Friday edition. Martin began his career as a reporter for CBC Radio in Quebec City and also worked for seven years as national and international producer for CBC Radio’s flagship show, As It Happens.