June 20, 2010

The Parliamentary session concluded with flurry of activity, including an arrangement to allow the auditor general to examine the expenses of MPs and an all-party agreement to speed the passage of a section of a bill dealing with changes to criminal pardons. The speedy passage of the bill could effectively block the upcoming pardon of Karla Homolka due in late July.

A deal was also reached to allow opposition MPs access to thousands of documents related to the treatment of Afghan detainees. A select group of MPs will now review the documents during the summer break.

Joining host Mark Sutcliffe to discuss these and other issues is David Akin (Sun Media’s new national bureau chief) and NDP leader Jack Layton, who will give us his assessment of the past Parliamentary session.


image - Mark Sutcliffe

Mark Sutcliffe

A broadcaster, writer and entrepreneur, Mark joined CPAC in the Fall of 2009 to host The Week – a Sunday morning, national phone-in on the week in politics. He also hosts The Chat Room weekday mornings on 580 CFRA in Ottawa, writes two weekly columns in the Ottawa Citizen and is the CEO of Great River Media. A marathon runner and volunteer, Mark is also the founder of iRun magazine and the author of Why I Run and was formerly Executive Editor of the Citizen.