Wendy Grant-John

Beyond Politics

Wendy Grant-John

Wendy Grant-John still remembers the day when the parents of her best friend slammed the door in her face when they saw she was an Indian. She also remembers her school for having separate entrances for white and Indian children.

The daughter of the Chief of the Musqueam First Nation in British Columbia, Wendy Grant-John somehow survived the racist invective that surrounded her early years to become a leader in her community. Three times she was elected Chief and was the first woman elected Regional Chief to the Assembly of First Nations. As Musqueam Chief she was part of two historic human rights cases argued before the Supreme Court of Canada and also helped establish the first aboriginal commercial fishery in Canada.

Catherine Clark spoke to Wendy Grant-John in Ottawa.

About

Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark

Born into political life in Ottawa, Catherine Clark is no stranger to being in the public eye. As founding host of CPAC’s popular weekly television show Beyond Politics, Catherine interviews Members of Parliament, Premiers and people of influence to reveal the personal, human side of public life. Catherine is also a sought-after public speaker and emcee, and writes the “Giving Back” column for Ottawa at Home Magazine, profiling people who are improving the lives of their fellow citizens.

Wendy Grant-John

Beyond Politics

Wendy Grant-John

Wendy Grant-John n’a jamais oublié le jour où les parents de sa meilleure amie lui ont claqué la porte au nez en s’apercevant qu’elle était autochtone. Elle se souvient aussi des entrées séparées pour les enfants blancs et autochtones de son école.

Fille du chef de la Première Nation Musqueam, en Colombie-Britannique, Wendy Grant-John est parvenue à survivre à l’invective raciste qui l’entourait tout au long de son enfance pour devenir une dirigeante de sa communauté. En plus d’avoir été élue chef à trois reprises, elle fut la première femme élue chef régionale de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations. En tant que chef des Musqueam, Mme Grant-John a participé à deux arrêts historiques rendus par la Cour suprême du Canada en matière des droits de la personne, et aux négociations de l’une des premières pêcheries commerciales autochtones au Canada.

Catherine Clark s’entretient avec Wendy Grant-John, à Ottawa.

Un mot sur...

Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark

Née à Ottawa dans le milieu politique, Catherine Clark est bien connue du public. À titre d’animatrice et fondatrice de Beyond Politics, une émission hebdomadaire de CPAC, Catherine s’entretient avec des parlementaires, des premiers ministres provinciaux et d’autres personnes influentes pour révéler la dimension humaine de la vie publique. Catherine est aussi une conférencière et maîtresse de cérémonies très sollicitée qui écrit la chronique « Giving Back », publiée dans Ottawa at Home Magazine, présentant les portraits de gens qui améliorent la vie de leurs concitoyens.