Pam Palmater

Beyond Politics

Pam Palmater

Pam Palmater finished second in voting to Shawn Atleo in the 2012 Assembly of First Nations Leadership contest.

A mother of six in a blended family, Pam herself grew up in a large family, 8 sisters and three brothers on the Eel River Bar First Nation in northern New Brunswick. Her great-grandfather Louis Jerome was one of her community’s first chiefs and in her family politics as always being discussed around the kitchen table.

Pam earned her BA in Native Studies at St. Thomas University and her law degree from the University of New Brunswick. At Dalhousie Law School she completed both a Masters and Doctorate in Law specializing in First Nation Law. Palmater worked for several years in the Department of Indian Affairs before beginning an academic career at Ryerson University in Toronto where she is an associate professor and chair in indigenous governance. She was one of the spokespeople for the Idle No More Movement in 2012.

Catherine Clark spoke to Pam Palmater in Ottawa.

About

Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark

Born into political life in Ottawa, Catherine Clark is no stranger to being in the public eye. As founding host of CPAC’s popular weekly television show Beyond Politics, Catherine interviews Members of Parliament, Premiers and people of influence to reveal the personal, human side of public life. Catherine is also a sought-after public speaker and emcee, and writes the “Giving Back” column for Ottawa at Home Magazine, profiling people who are improving the lives of their fellow citizens.

Pam Palmater

Beyond Politics

Pam Palmater

En 2012, Pam Palmater s’est classée au deuxième rang lors de la course à la direction de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations, ayant été devancée par Shawn Atleo.

Mère de six enfants d’une famille recomposée, Pam Palmater a elle-même passé son enfance au sein d’une grande famille : 8 soeurs et 3 frères. Elle est citoyenne mi’kmaw de la Première Nation Eel River Bar, située dans le Nord du Nouveau-Brunswick. Son arrière-grand-père Louis Jerome a été le premier chef de sa communauté. À l’heure des repas, les membres d sa famille discutaient toujours de politique.

Pam Palmater a obtenu un baccalauréat en études autochtones de l’Université St. Thomas et un diplôme en droit de l’université du Nouveau-Brunswick. En outre, elle a terminé une maîtrise et un doctorat axés sur le droit des Premières Nations à la Faculté de droit de l’Université Dalhousie. Durant plusieurs années, Pam Palmater a travaillé au ministère des Affaires indiennes avant d’entreprendre une carrière à l’université Ryerson, à Toronto. Elle y occupe présentement le poste de professeure agrégée et présidente des études de gouvernance autochtone. En 2012, elle figurait au nombre des porte-parole du mouvement autochtone « Idle No More » (La passivité, c’est fini!).

À Ottawa, Pam Palmater raconte à l’animatrice Catherine Clark la vie qu’elle mène loin de l’arène politique.

Un mot sur...

Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark

Née à Ottawa dans le milieu politique, Catherine Clark est bien connue du public. À titre d’animatrice et fondatrice de Beyond Politics, une émission hebdomadaire de CPAC, Catherine s’entretient avec des parlementaires, des premiers ministres provinciaux et d’autres personnes influentes pour révéler la dimension humaine de la vie publique. Catherine est aussi une conférencière et maîtresse de cérémonies très sollicitée qui écrit la chronique « Giving Back », publiée dans Ottawa at Home Magazine, présentant les portraits de gens qui améliorent la vie de leurs concitoyens.