Justice Suzanne Côté

Beyond Politics

Justice Suzanne Côté

Madame Justice Suzanne Côté was sworn in as Supreme Court Judge on December 2, 2014. As head of Osler, Hoskin and Harcourt’s litigation group in Montreal, Côté distinguished herself as one of this country’s top litigators. With the appointment Côté became the first woman to join the court from private practice.

Côté grew up in the Gaspé, in the tiny village of Cloridorme. Her parents moved to the town of Gaspe when she was 14. Always a serious student, Côté became interested in the law from reading the Quebec crime tabloids, Allo Police and Photo Police. Côté attended law school at the Université de Laval and enjoyed a private practice in the Gaspe for a number of years before joining the firm of Stikeman Elliott in Montreal. It was there where Côté honed her skills and earned her reputation as one of the province’s top commercial and corporate litigators. Côté joined the firm of Osler, Hoskina nd Harcourt as a partner in 2010.

Catherine Clark spoke to Suzanne Côté at the Supreme Court in Ottawa.

About

Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark

Born into political life in Ottawa, Catherine Clark is no stranger to being in the public eye. As founding host of CPAC’s popular weekly television show Beyond Politics, Catherine interviews Members of Parliament, Premiers and people of influence to reveal the personal, human side of public life. Catherine is also a sought-after public speaker and emcee, and writes the “Giving Back” column for Ottawa at Home Magazine, profiling people who are improving the lives of their fellow citizens.

Juge de la Cour Suprême Justice Suzanne Côté

Beyond Politics

Juge de la Cour Suprême Justice Suzanne Côté

Madame la juge Suzanne Côté a été assermentée comme juge de la Cour suprême du Canada le 2 décembre 2014. Alors qu’elle dirigeait le groupe du litige au sein du cabinet Osler, Hoskin et Harcourt, Me Côté s’est distinguée comme un des meilleurs avocats plaidants au pays. La nomination de Mme Côté a fait d’elle la première femme issue de la pratique privée à être nommée à la Cour.

Suzanne Côté a grandi en Gaspésie, dans le petit village de Cloridorme. Ses parents ont déménagé à Gaspé lorsqu’elle avait 14 ans. Toujours très sérieuse quant à ses études, Mme Côté s’est intéressée au droit en lisant les tabloïds québécois d’information policière et judiciaire Allô Police et Photo Police. Mme Côté a étudié à la faculté de droit de l’Université Laval puis œuvré en pratique privée en Gaspésie pendant plusieurs années avant d’entrer au service du cabinet Stikeman Elliott à Montréal. C’est ici que Me Côté a perfectionné ses compétences et acquis sa réputation comme l’un des meilleurs avocats plaidants de la province en matière de litiges civils et commerciaux. Mme Côté s’est jointe au cabinet Osler, Hoskin et Harcourt à titre d’associée en 2010.

Catherine Clark s’est entretenue avec Suzanne Côté à la Cour suprême, à Ottawa.

Un mot sur...

Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark

Née à Ottawa dans le milieu politique, Catherine Clark est bien connue du public. À titre d’animatrice et fondatrice de Beyond Politics, une émission hebdomadaire de CPAC, Catherine s’entretient avec des parlementaires, des premiers ministres provinciaux et d’autres personnes influentes pour révéler la dimension humaine de la vie publique. Catherine est aussi une conférencière et maîtresse de cérémonies très sollicitée qui écrit la chronique « Giving Back », publiée dans Ottawa at Home Magazine, présentant les portraits de gens qui améliorent la vie de leurs concitoyens.