The New Senate

Did You Know?

The New Senate

Preparations for major renovations to the Center Block continue. The complete rehabilitation of this building will begin in the fall of 2018 and will last at least ten years. This forces both Houses of Parliament to relocate. The West Block will be the new home of the House of Commons, while the former Union Station in Ottawa, will be the new location of the Senate. Philippe Murat visited the site of what will become the new location of the Upper House.

About

image - Heather Seaman

Heather Seaman

A jack of all trades journalist with experience as a news writer, editor, reporter, anchor, host and videographer, Heather brings viewers on-the-ground stories from political and community events. She is a reporter on Outburst and special features and previously acted as correspondent for On the Bright Side. Prior to joining CPAC, she worked for several major broadcasters across Ontario, graduating from Seneca College’s Radio and Television Broadcasting Program with high honours.

image - Philippe Murat

Philippe Murat

Philippe Murat is a veteran of political reporting. He was legislative reporter for Radio-Canada in Victoria for seven years and for L’Acadie Nouvelle in Fredericton for three years. He has worked as a regional correspondent for Radio-Canada International in Halifax and Toronto. Moreover, he has covered provincial and federal elections and referendums in eight provinces and one territory, as well as the May 2000 parliamentary elections in Haiti. Philippe has reported from the Hibernia oil platform, off the coast of Newfoundland, aboard the frigate HMCS Ville de Québec and from Alaska during the 2007 Pacific North West Economic Region Summit in Anchorage, Alaska.

Le nouveau Sénat

Did You Know?

Le nouveau Sénat

Les préparatifs en vue d’entreprendre des rénovations importantes à l’Édifice du centre se poursuivent. La réhabilitation complète de cet édifice débutera à l’automne 2018 et durera au moins dix ans. Cela force les deux chambres du Parlement à se reloger. À l’instar de l’Édifice de l’Ouest qui abritera la Chambre des communes, l’ancienne gare Union d’Ottawa, sera la nouvelle demeure du Sénat. Philippe Murat a visité le chantier de ce qui deviendra le nouvel emplacement de la Chambre haute.

Un mot sur...

image - Heather Seaman

Heather Seaman

Journaliste polyvalente ayant travaillé comme lectrice/rédactrice des nouvelles, monteuse, animatrice et vidéo-journaliste, Heather présente des reportages “de terrain” consacrés à des événements politiques et communautaires. Journaliste à l’émission Outburst et pour des séries spéciales, elle a été collaboratrice de l’émission On The Bright Side. Avant d’arriver à CPAC, elle a travaillé pour plusieurs radiodiffuseurs importants en Ontario, et elle est diplômée du Programme de radiodiffusion et télévision de Seneca College.

image - Philippe Murat

Philippe Murat

Philippe Murat est un vétéran de l’information politique. Il a été correspondant parlementaire de Radio-Canada à Victoria pendant sept ans et pour L’Acadie Nouvelle à Fredericton durant trois années. Il a été correspondant régional de Radio Canada International à Halifax et à Toronto. De plus, il a couvert des scrutins et des référendums provinciaux et fédéraux dans huit provinces et un territoire ainsi que les élections législatives de mai 2000 en Haïti. Philippe a également présenté des reportages à bord de la plate-forme Hibernia et de la frégate NCSM Ville de Québec, et en 2007, il a couvert le Sommet de la Région économique du Nord-Ouest du Pacifique, à Anchorage, en Alaska.