Federal Conservative leadership debate

Federal Conservative leadership debate

Leadership contenders Leslyn Lewis, Peter MacKay, Erin O’Toole and Derek Sloan square off in Toronto on June 18, 2020

Conservative leadership candidates



Conservative leadership candidates are meeting this week in Toronto for their only two official debates.

French debate: Wednesday, June 17 at 7 p.m. ET

English debate: Thursday, June 18 at 7 p.m. ET

Dan Nowlan and Lisa Raitt, co-chairs of the leadership organizing committee, are the moderators. There is no in-person audience, but video questions submitted by the public are put to the candidates.

The COVID-19 pandemic forced a five-week suspension to the leadership campaign and changes to the timeline, which originally called for a late-June election.

  • In-person voting has been scrapped. Members will submit their ballots by mail, along with a declaration form and proof of identity, by 5 p.m. ET on Aug. 21. The date for announcing the winner has yet to be confirmed.
  • The deadline for party membership to ensure voting eligibility was pushed back from April 17 to May 15.

Inside the Race

Looking Back