Conservative Leadership

Erin O’Toole became the third leader of the Conservative Party of Canada by defeating Peter MacKay on the third ballot.

The COVID-19 pandemic forced a five-week suspension to the leadership campaign and changes to the timeline, which originally called for a late-June election.

  • In-person voting was scrapped in favour of mail-in ballots.
  • The deadline for party membership (ensuring voting eligibility) was pushed back from April 17 to May 15.

Inside the Race

Looking Back