Monday: By-Elections to Elect Four MPs

Monday: By-Elections to Elect Four MPs


Follow Elections Canada for real-time by-election results

UPDATED December 11, 2017 1:44pmET

Four ridings see by-elections on Monday, Dec. 11.

  • Battlefords–Lloydminster (Saskatchewan)
  • Bonavista–Burin–Trinity (Newfoundland and Labrador)
  • Scarborough–Agincourt (Ontario)
  • South Surrey–White Rock (British Columbia)

How do these four ridings compare in terms of size, population, immigration, ethnic origin, and more?

Browse the map for some 2016 Census highlights:

Of this quartet of open ridings, South Surrey–White Rock had the closest race in 2015. Dianne Watts (Conservative) bested her Liberal rival by 1,439 votes (44.0% to 41.5%). Watts is now seeking the provincial Liberal leadership.

Former cabinet minister Kerry-Lynne Findlay, who represented the former neighbouring riding of Delta in the previous Parliament, is running for the Conservatives. Former B.C. cabinet minister Gordie Hogg is the Liberal candidate.

Other candidates registered with Elections Canada: Jonathan Silveira (NDP), Larry Colero (Green), Michael Heunefeld (Progressive Canadian), Christian Heritage Party Leader Rod Taylor, and Donald Wilson (Libertarian).

South Surrey–White Rock’s boundaries include the Georgia Strait — and the Canada-U.S. border itself.

Watch debate highlights from the riding as part of the Dec. 7 episode of PrimeTime Politics (at 1:33:25):

Longtime Reform, Canadian Alliance, and Conservative MP Gerry Ritz has retired from the House of Commons after 20 years — the only MP to represent Battlefords–Lloydminster since the riding’s creation.

Rosemarie Falk, a social worker and legal assistant, and former Parliament Hill staffer, is running to keep the western Saskatchewan riding Conservative.

Larry Ingram, a former municipal councillor, is again the Liberal candidate.

Matt Fedler is running for the NDP, along with Yvonne Potter-Pihach (Green) and Ken Finlayson (Independent).

Ritz won 61 per cent of the vote in 2015.

The Scarborough–Agincourt vacancy resulted from the September death of Liberal MP Arnold Chan from cancer.

Jean Yip, Chan’s widow, is running for the Liberals. Dasong Zou is the Conservative candidate.

The riding has been Liberal since its 1988 creation. Chan, who won a 2014 by-election, had 52-per-cent support in 2015, compared to 38 per cent for the Conservatives.

Other candidates registered with Elections Canada: Brian Chang (NDP), Michael DiPasquale (Green), Jude Coutinho (Christian Heritage), and independents John Turmel and Tom Zhu.

Scarborough–Agincourt is in the northwest corner of Scarborough, now part of the City of Toronto.

Former cabinet minister Judy Foote, who resigned from Parliament at the end of September, had the most support of any 2015 candidate across Canada. She took nearly 82 per cent of the vote in Bonavista–Burin–Trinity.

Churence Rogers, mayor of Centreville-Wareham-Trinity, is running for the Liberals.

Mike Windsor, the 2015 runner-up, is again on the ballot for the Conservative party.

The NDP has Tyler Downey on the ballot, with Tyler Colborne running for the Greens and Shane Stapleton representing the Libertarian party.

Bonavista–Burin–Trinity is between the Avalon Peninsula and the riding of Coast of Bays–Central–Notre Dame. It borders the Atlantic Ocean to the north and south and includes Placentia, Trinity, and Bonavista bays.


-Andrew Thomson