NDP Leadership

NDP Leadership

UPDATED October 2, 2017 9:14amET

Jagmeet Singh won a first-ballot victory yesterday to become the new NDP leader. 

RECAP: CPAC’s live online coverage from the Toronto results announcement

New Democrats will choose their new leader this fall in a voting process that could last several weeks. Party officials hope the shift from a one-day vote will increase interest among Canadians as the NDP finds a permanent successor to Thomas Mulcair.

RECAP: CPAC’s live online coverage from the Candidate Showcase in Hamilton


Ontario MP Charlie Angus, Quebec MP Guy Caron, and Manitoba MP Niki Ashton, and Ontario MPP Jagmeet Singh are the party’s officially registered candidates.

Charlie Angus          Niki Ashton          Guy Caron          Jagmeet Singh

British Columbia MP Peter Julian left the race on July 6, citing poor fundraising results.

Former veterans ombudsman Pat Stogran announced his candidacy in April but withdrew in early June. Elections Canada lists three others as contestants, though not by the NDP itself: David Berlin of Toronto, Alan Gorman of Montreal, and Ibrahim Bruno El-Khoury of Montreal.

2016: Mulcair loses review

Mulcair’s leadership was rejected by more than half of NDP delegates at the party’s April 2016 convention in Edmonton.

Fifty-two per cent of votes called for a new leadership contest following Mulcair’s keynote speech, where he took responsibility for the party’s election result.

“We’ll leave disappointment behind with change at the helm,” Mulcair said after the vote.

Delegates decided on a 12-month extension of the deadline to hold a new leadership vote.

More on the NDP Leadership

(Photos: The Canadian Press)