Phil Fontaine

Beyond Politics

Phil Fontaine

Phil Fontaine served three terms as National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations and was one of the earliest proponents for an inquiry into this country’s residential schools.

Fontaine, along with his 9 brothers and two sisters, and both of his parents attended residential school on the Fort Alexander Reserve in Manitoba. Phil’s father passed away when he was six and it was left to his mother along with her brothers and sisters to raise the 12 children. In June of 1952, only a few months after her husband’s death Fontaine’s mother became the first Aboriginal woman elected to a band council. Fontaine followed his mother’s footsteps and entered public life and was elected to serve two terms as Chief of the Sagkeeng First Nation.

It was after this experience as chief that Fontaine returned to school and attended the University of Manitoba. Armed with a degree, Fontaine went to work for the federal government for a number of years before returning to public life. In 1997 he was elected for the first time as National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations. He was re-elected in 2003 and 2006. In 2005 he helped negotiate the $5.6B Indian Residential Schools Agreement.

After leaving politics in 2009, Fontaine became a special advisor to the Royal Bank of Canada, Norton Rose and Trans Canada. He also serves as a director for several private and public companies and corporations. Catherine Clark spoke to Phil Fontaine in Ottawa.

About

Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark

Born into political life in Ottawa, Catherine Clark is no stranger to being in the public eye. As founding host of CPAC’s popular weekly television show Beyond Politics, Catherine interviews Members of Parliament, Premiers and people of influence to reveal the personal, human side of public life. Catherine is also a sought-after public speaker and emcee, and writes the “Giving Back” column for Ottawa at Home Magazine, profiling people who are improving the lives of their fellow citizens.

Phil Fontaine

Beyond Politics

Phil Fontaine

Élu chef de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations à trois reprises, Phil Fontaine fut l’un des premiers à réclamer une enquête sur les pensionnats indiens du Canada.

Ses neuf frères et deux sœurs, ses parents ainsi que lui-même ont tous vécu dans les pensionnats de la réserve Fort Alexander au Manitoba. Après le décès de son père, quand Phil avait six ans, sa mère s’est occupée de ses 12 enfants avec l’aide de ses frères et sœurs. En juin 1952, à peine quelques mois suivant la mort de son mari, Mme Fontaine devint la première femme autochtone à être élue à un conseil de bande. Phil Fontaine suivit les traces de sa mère en s’engageant dans la vie publique; il fut élu chef de la Première Nation Sagkeeng pour deux mandats.

À la suite de cette expérience, M. Fontaine retourna aux études, à l’Université du Manitoba. Son diplôme universitaire en poche, il travailla au gouvernement fédéral pendant quelques années avant de réintégrer la vie publique. En 1997, il remporta la victoire comme chef national de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations pour un premier mandat. Il a ensuite été réélu en 2003 et en 2006. En 2005, il aida à négocier la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens dont les prestations s’élèvent à 5,6 milliards de dollars.

Depuis son départ de la vie politique en 2009, M. Fontaine agit à titre de conseiller spécial pour la Banque Royale du Canada, Norton Rose et Trans Canada. Par ailleurs, il est administrateur de plusieurs sociétés publiques et privées. Catherine Clark s’entretient avec Phil Fontaine à Ottawa.

Un mot sur...

Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark

Née à Ottawa dans le milieu politique, Catherine Clark est bien connue du public. À titre d’animatrice et fondatrice de Beyond Politics, une émission hebdomadaire de CPAC, Catherine s’entretient avec des parlementaires, des premiers ministres provinciaux et d’autres personnes influentes pour révéler la dimension humaine de la vie publique. Catherine est aussi une conférencière et maîtresse de cérémonies très sollicitée qui écrit la chronique « Giving Back », publiée dans Ottawa at Home Magazine, présentant les portraits de gens qui améliorent la vie de leurs concitoyens.