Alex Janvier

Beyond Politics

Alex Janvier

Alex Janvier is one of the founding members of the Indian Group of Seven, a collection of aboriginal artists that broke new ground in the world of art when it was founded in 1973. Fellow artists included Norval Morrisseau and Daphne Odjig.

Alex was born in 1935 on the Le Goff reserve, part of the Cold Lake First Nation in Northern Alberta. A Dene Suline, Alex attended the Blue Quills residential school and found that art class was his sole refuge from the daily torments and abuse. Ironically it was a French priest, the principal of the school, who recognised Alex’s talent and encouraged him to pursue art. He attended the Calgary School of Art after the local Indian denied him the right to attend the Ontario School of Art. As part of Expo 67 he brought together a group of First Nations artists for the Indians of Canada pavilion.

He currently runs the Janvier Art Gallery in Cold Lake and next year will be honoured with an exhibition of his work at the National Gallery of Canada in Ottawa. Catherine Clark spoke to Alex Janvier in Cold Lake, Alberta.

About

Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark

Born into political life in Ottawa, Catherine Clark is no stranger to being in the public eye. As founding host of CPAC’s popular weekly television show Beyond Politics, Catherine interviews Members of Parliament, Premiers and people of influence to reveal the personal, human side of public life. Catherine is also a sought-after public speaker and emcee, and writes the “Giving Back” column for Ottawa at Home Magazine, profiling people who are improving the lives of their fellow citizens.

Alex Janvier

Beyond Politics

Alex Janvier

Alex Janvier est l’un des membres fondateurs du « Groupe indien des Sept ». Dès sa création en 1973, ce collectif d’artistes autochtones a innové le monde des arts. Norval Morrisseau et Daphne Odjig comptèrent parmi les membres du groupe.

Alex Janvier est né en 1935, dans la réserve Le Goff de la Première Nation Cold Lake, au nord de l’Alberta. Issu du peuple denesuline, le jeune Alex fut envoyé au pensionnat indien Blue Quill Residential Indian School où les cours d’art constituaient son seul refuge contre les tourments et les mauvais traitements quotidiens. Ironie du sort, un prêtre français et directeur de l’école remarqua le talent artistique d’Alex et l’encouragea dans cette voie. Après qu’un autochtone local lui refusa le droit de s’inscrire à l’Université de l’École d’art et de design de l’Ontario, il poursuivit ses études à la Calgary School of Art. Dans le cadre de l’Expo 67, Alex Janvier rassembla un groupe d’artistes des Premières Nations pour le pavillon des Indiens du Canada.

Aujourd’hui, M. Janvier gère la Janvier Art Gallery à Cold Lake. En 2016, on lui rendra hommage en exposant son œuvre au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, à Ottawa. Catherine Clark s’entretient avec l’artiste autochtone Alex Janvier à Cold Lake, en Alberta.

Un mot sur...

Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark

Née à Ottawa dans le milieu politique, Catherine Clark est bien connue du public. À titre d’animatrice et fondatrice de Beyond Politics, une émission hebdomadaire de CPAC, Catherine s’entretient avec des parlementaires, des premiers ministres provinciaux et d’autres personnes influentes pour révéler la dimension humaine de la vie publique. Catherine est aussi une conférencière et maîtresse de cérémonies très sollicitée qui écrit la chronique « Giving Back », publiée dans Ottawa at Home Magazine, présentant les portraits de gens qui améliorent la vie de leurs concitoyens.