Yves-François Blanchet – Leading the Bloc Québécois in a Minority Parliament

Conversations avec Esther Bégin

Yves-François Blanchet – Leading the Bloc Québécois in a Minority Parliament

In this in-depth interview with Esther Bégin, Bloc Québécois Leader Yves-François Blanchet looks back at some of the highlights of the recent federal election campaign. He describes his vision for the Bloc, whose presence in the House of Commons has increased considerably, and the party’s new mission—almost 30 years after it was created. Blanchet also discusses his relationship with Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and opens up about the challenging times he went through after leaving provincial politics in 2014.

About

Esther Bégin

Esther Bégin

Esther joined CPAC in 2018 as the network’s French Anchor. She hosts L’Essentiel, a daily program that looks at the impact of federal policy decisions on the everyday lives of Canadians, specifically those in French-speaking communities.

A seasoned and accomplished communications professional, Esther has more than 25 years of experience in journalism and broadcasting. As anchor at LCN and TVA from 1997 to 2007 as well as TQS (currently known as V Télé) from July 2007 to May 2008, she has hosted hundreds of interviews with key decision makers in Quebec and Canada, including prime ministers and renowned business leaders in various sectors. She has also hosted decision day coverage in dozens of Quebec, Canadian and American elections.

More recently, she produced the documentary series Fièvre politique, which was broadcast on Télé-Québec and later honoured at the Prix Gémeaux in 2017. She has also worked as a journalist and correspondent for RDI and ICI Radio-Canada on Canada’s West Coast.

Yves-François Blanchet

Conversations avec Esther Bégin

Yves-François Blanchet

Dans une entrevue en profondeur avec Esther Bégin, le chef du Bloc Québécois revient sur les moments forts de la dernière campagne électorale fédérale. Il parle de sa vision de la présence renforcée du Bloc à la Chambre des communes et de sa nouvelle mission prés de 30 ans après sa création. Monsieur Blanchet discute également de sa relation avec le Premier ministre Justin Trudeau et s’ouvre sur le passage à vide qu’il a traversé après son départ de la politique provinciale en 2014.

Un mot sur...

Esther Bégin

Esther Bégin

Esther s’est jointe à l’équipe de CPAC en 2018 à titre de chef d’antenne francophone. Elle anime L’Essentiel, une émission quotidienne d’information qui examine l’impact des décisions de nos politiciens sur la vie de la population canadienne, particulièrement celle des communautés francophones.

Professionnelle chevronnée de la communication, Esther Bégin possède plus de 25 ans d’expérience en journalisme et en animation. Chef d’antenne à LCN et à TVA de 1997 à 2007, puis à TQS (aujourd’hui V Télé), elle a réalisé des centaines d’entrevues avec les grands décideurs du Québec et du Canada, dont des premiers ministres et des leaders de renom issus de différents secteurs. Elle a également animé des dizaines de soirées électorales sur la scène québécoise, canadienne ou américaine.

Plus récemment, elle a signé l’émission Fièvre politique, diffusée à Télé-Québec et couronnée meilleure recherche pour un série documentaire aux Prix Gémeaux 2017. Elle a été également journaliste et correspondante pour RDI et ICI Radio-Canada sur la côte Ouest canadienne.