Awaiting the Meeting Between Hereditary Chiefs & Gov’t – February 27, 2020

Awaiting the Meeting Between Hereditary Chiefs & Gov’t – February 27, 2020

Awaiting the Meeting Between Hereditary Chiefs & Gov’t – February 27, 2020

Public Safety Minister Bill Blair responds to a question from Conservative MP Doug Shipley at the House public safety committee concerning the on-going rail blockades. Minister Blair, RCMP Commissioner Brenda Lucki, and Conservative MP Pierre Paul-Hus speak to reporters after the committee meeting.

MPs respond to reporters about what they hope to see from the long-awaited meeting between the Wet’suwet’en hereditary chiefs and the federal and B.C. governments set to take place later in the day. Speaking to reporters are Transport Minister Marc Garneau, Indigenous Services Minister Marc Miller, Bloc Québécois MP Alain Therrien, as well as NDP MP Charlie Angus.

Foreign Affairs Minister François-Philippe Champagne and NDP MP Don Davies answer questions about the government’s response to the coronavirus, as well as the security costs for Prince Harry and Meghan’s move to Canada.

Réunion entre les chefs héréditaires Wet’suwet’en et les gouv. – 27 février 2020

Réunion entre les chefs héréditaires Wet’suwet’en et les gouv. – 27 février 2020

Réunion entre les chefs héréditaires Wet’suwet’en et les gouv. – 27 février 2020

Lors de la réunion du Comité sur la sécurité publique de la Chambre, le ministre de la Sécurité publique Bill Blair répond à une question du député conservateur Doug Shipley sur les blocages ferroviaires. À la conclusion de cette rencontre, les journalistes entendent les propos du ministre Blair, de la nouvelle commissaire de la GRC Brenda Lucki et du député conservateur Pierre Paul-Hus.

Les parlementaires suivants répondent à la question des journalistes sur leur espoir quant aux conclusions de la réunion tant attendue, devant avoir lieu plus tard au cours de la journée, entre les chefs héréditaires Wet’suwet’en ainsi que les gouvernements fédéral et britanno-colombien : les ministres Marc Garneau (Transports), Marc Miller (Services aux Autochtones); ainsi que les députés Alain Therrien (Bloc Québécois) et Charlie Angus (NPD).

Le ministre François-Philippe Champagne (Affaires étrangères) et le député Don Davies (NPD) répondent aux interrogations concernant la réaction gouvernementale au coronavirus et les coûts de la sécurité du prince Harry et de Meghan après leur installation au Canada.