WE Charity Affair: Election Speculation – October 20, 2020

WE Charity Affair: Election Speculation – October 20, 2020

WE Charity Affair: Election Speculation – October 20, 2020

Scrums, news conferences, committees, conferences – highlights from the working day in Canadian politics:

Conservative Leader Erin O’Toole discusses his party’s opposition day motion, which is set to be debated in the House of Commons. The Conservatives are calling for the creation of a special House committee to investigate corruption. The proposed committee would consolidate a number of ongoing parliamentary investigations into the WE Charity controversy.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau responds to questions on the Conservative motion calling for a special committee to investigate the WE Charity controversy and other alleged ethical breaches. The Liberals assert that the motion shows a lack of confidence in the minority government and that its passage would trigger an election.

Bloc Québécois Leader Yves-François Blanchet and NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh speak with reporters on Parliament Hill about the Conservative motion calling for the House of Commons to create a special ‘anti-corruption’ committee. Blanchet says he will support the motion.

Affaire Unis : la spéculation électorale – 20 octobre 2020

Affaire Unis : la spéculation électorale – 20 octobre 2020

Affaire Unis : la spéculation électorale – 20 octobre 2020

Mêlées de presse, conférences de presse, comités, conférences; les faits saillants quotidiens en politique canadienne :

Le chef du Parti conservateur Erin O’Toole discute de la motion de l’opposition déposée par son parti qui fera l’objet d’un débat à la Chambre des communes. Les conservateurs réclament la création d’un comité spécial de la Chambre chargé d’enquêter sur la corruption. Le comité proposé regrouperait les multiples enquêtes parlementaires portant sur la controverse suscitée par l’organisme caritatif UNIS.

Le premier ministre Justin trudeau répond aux questions, dont la motion des Conservateurs réclamant un comité spécial dédié à enquêter sur la controverse de l’organisme UNIS et sur d’autres manquements éthiques allégués. Les Libéraux affirment que cette motion démontre un manque de confiance envers le gouvernement minoritaire et que son adoption déclenchera une élection.

Le chef du Bloc Québécois Yves-François Blanchet et le chef du NPD Jagmeet Singh s’adressent aux journalistes au sujet de la motion des Conservateurs sur la création d’un comité spécial anticorruption. Blanchet indique qu’il appuiera cette motion.