MAID Bill & Vaccine Distribution – December 8, 2020

MAID Bill & Vaccine Distribution – December 8, 2020

MAID Bill & Vaccine Distribution – December 8, 2020

Scrums, news conferences, committees, conferences – highlights from the working day in Canadian politics:

During Question Period, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau responds to questions concerning the government’s response to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, and more.

Justice Minister David Lametti and Bloc Québécois Leader Yves-François Blanchet speaks with reporters on Parliament Hill about the timeline to pass the federal government’s revised medical assistance in dying legislation (C-7) before a court-ordered deadline of Dec. 18. The Bloc leader also comments on the federal government’s plans for the distribution of COVID-19 vaccines.

Conservative health critic Michelle Rempel Garner calls on the federal government to implement COVID-19 rapid testing at Canadian airports. She is joined by Barret Armann, president of the union (Unifor local 7378) representing pilots at Sunwing Airlines.

Green Party Leader Annamie Paul discusses her party’s concerns about how the Canada Revenue Agency has handled the clawing back of Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB) payments. The Green Party leader also comments on the federal government’s plans for the distribution of COVID-19 vaccines.

Loi sur l’AMM et la distribution des vaccins – 8 décembre 2020

Loi sur l’AMM et la distribution des vaccins – 8 décembre 2020

Loi sur l’AMM et la distribution des vaccins – 8 décembre 2020

Mêlées de presse, conférences de presse, comités, conférences; les faits saillants quotidiens en politique canadienne :

Durant la période des questions, le premier ministre Justin Trudeau répond à des questions sur les mesures prises par le gouvernement pour répondre à la pandémie de COVID-19, entre autres.

Le ministre de la Justice David Lametti et le chef du Bloc Québécois Yves-François Blanchet s’adressent aux journalistes concernant les délais afin d’adopter le projet de loi modifiant la législation fédérale sur l’aide médicale à mourir (C-7), avant l’échéance du 18 décembre établie par la cour. M. Blanchet discute également du plan canadien pour la distribution des vaccins contre la COVID-19.

Michelle Rempel Garner, porte-parole des conservateurs en matière de Santé, demande au gouvernement de mettre en place des tests de dépistage rapide de la COVID-19 dans les aéroports canadiens. Elle est accompagnée de Barret Armann, président du syndicat (section locale 7378 d’Unifor) qui représente les pilotes de Sunwing Airlines.

Annamie Paul, chef du Parti vert du Canada, discute des préoccupations de son parti concernant la manière dont l’Agence du revenu du Canada gère le remboursement qu’elle demande aux Canadiens qui ont reçu la Prestation canadienne d’urgence (PCU). Mme Paul aussi commente le plan fédéral de distribution de vaccins contre la COVID-19.