David Williams

Beyond Politics

David Williams

Canadian astronaut Dave Williams was one of four selected to the space program after the Canadian Space Agency announced it was accepting applications in 1992.

An emergency room doctor, Williams grew up in the Montreal suburb of Beaconsfield and had the dream of being an astronaut since he first saw, on a black-and-white TV, Alan Shepherd launch into space aboard the Mercury rocket. The year was 1961.

Williams flew on two missions: in 1998 aboard STS-90, and aboard STS-118 in August 2007. Williams performed three spacewalks on his last mission, the most of any Canadian astronaut. Williams also holds the distinction of being the first Canadian to hold a senior management position within NASA when he was the agency’s director of the Space and Life Sciences Directorate. Williams is currently president and CEO of the Southlake Regional Health Centre in Newmarket, Ont. Catherine Clark spoke to Dave Williams in Newmarket.

About

Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark

Born into political life in Ottawa, Catherine Clark is no stranger to being in the public eye. As founding host of CPAC’s popular weekly television show Beyond Politics, Catherine interviews Members of Parliament, Premiers and people of influence to reveal the personal, human side of public life. Catherine is also a sought-after public speaker and emcee, and writes the “Giving Back” column for Ottawa at Home Magazine, profiling people who are improving the lives of their fellow citizens.

David Williams

Beyond Politics

David Williams

À Newmarket, en Ontario, Catherine Clark s’entretient avec l’astronaute canadien Dave Williams, l’un des quatre candidats retenus pour le programme spatial de l’Agence spatiale canadienne en 1992.

L’urgentologue Dave Williams a grandi dans la banlieue montréalaise de Beaconsfield, au Québec. Il a caressé le rêve de devenir astronaute depuis qu’il a visionné, vers l’âge de 7 ans, sur un téléviseur noir et blanc, le lancement de la navette spatiale Mercury Seven avec l’astronaute Alan Shepherd à bord. C’était en 1961.

Le Dr Williams a participé à deux missions spatiales : l’une, en 1998, à bord du vaisseau STS-90; et l’autre, en août 2007, à bord du STS-118. Lors de sa dernière mission, il a pris part à trois sorties extravéhiculaires ce qu’aucun autre astronaute canadien n’a fait. Dave Williams se distingue aussi comme le premier Canadien à occuper un poste de cadre supérieur au sein de la NASA quand Il est nommé directeur des sciences de la vie et de l’espace au Centre spatial Johnson. Présentement, Dave Williams agit comme président-directeur général du Southlake Regional Health Centre à Newmarket.

Un mot sur...

Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark

Née à Ottawa dans le milieu politique, Catherine Clark est bien connue du public. À titre d’animatrice et fondatrice de Beyond Politics, une émission hebdomadaire de CPAC, Catherine s’entretient avec des parlementaires, des premiers ministres provinciaux et d’autres personnes influentes pour révéler la dimension humaine de la vie publique. Catherine est aussi une conférencière et maîtresse de cérémonies très sollicitée qui écrit la chronique « Giving Back », publiée dans Ottawa at Home Magazine, présentant les portraits de gens qui améliorent la vie de leurs concitoyens.