Tom Jackson

Beyond Politics

Tom Jackson

Philanthropist, singer and actor Tom Jackson grew up on the One Arrow Reserve, near Batoche, Saskatchewan, about 90 minutes from Saskatoon.

At the age of 15, Tom dropped out of school and lived on the streets of Winnipeg for years before being noticed by a social worker at the local friendship centre who encouraged Jackson to start thinking about his future. Before long Jackson was working in radio at the local CBC. Jackson’s big break came when he was approached to take the role of Eddy in the CBC movie Loyalties. Subsequently he played the role of Billy Twofeathers on the PBS series “Shining Time Station”, but it was his role as Peter Kenedi in the CBC series “North of 60” that made him a household name. Jackson picked up 3 Gemini Awards over the 6 seasons the series aired.

Jackson spends a great deal of his time working with charities and fundraising for all kinds of initiatives homelessness, poverty; youth suicide etc. Jackson’s Huron Carole Tour is now in its 23rd year. Catherine Clark spoke to Tom Jackson in Ottawa.

About

Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark

Born into political life in Ottawa, Catherine Clark is no stranger to being in the public eye. As founding host of CPAC’s popular weekly television show Beyond Politics, Catherine interviews Members of Parliament, Premiers and people of influence to reveal the personal, human side of public life. Catherine is also a sought-after public speaker and emcee, and writes the “Giving Back” column for Ottawa at Home Magazine, profiling people who are improving the lives of their fellow citizens.

Tom Jackson

Beyond Politics

Tom Jackson

Le philanthrope, chanteur et comédien Tom Jackson a grandi dans la réserve One Arrow près de Batoche, à quelque 90 minutes de Saskatoon, en Saskatchewan.

À l’âge de 15 ans, Tom abandonne l’école et, pendant plusieurs années, il vit dans les rues de Winnipeg jusqu’au moment où un travailleur social d’un centre d’amitié local l’encourage à songer à son avenir. En peu de temps, Tom Jackson commence à travailler dans le domaine de la radio, à la station locale du réseau anglais de la SRC (CBC). La chance lui sourit quand on lui offre le rôle d’Eddy dans le film « Loyalties », produit par la CBC. Par la suite, il incarne Billy Twofeathers dans la série du réseau américain PBS, « Shining Time Station ». Cependant, c’est son interprétation de Peter Kenidi dans la série de la CBC « Au nord du 60e » qui l’a rendu célèbre. Au cours des six saisons de la diffusion de la série, M. Jackson remporte trois Prix Gémeaux.

En outre, il consacre une grande partie de son temps à aider des organismes de bienfaisance et à participer aux collectes de fonds destinées à des initiatives philanthropiques luttant contre l’itinérance, la pauvreté, le suicide chez les jeunes, etc. En effet, sa tournée de concerts-bénéfice « The Huron Carole » en est à sa 23e année d’existence. Catherine Clark s’entretient avec Tom Jackson à Ottawa.

Un mot sur...

Catherine Clark

Catherine Clark

Née à Ottawa dans le milieu politique, Catherine Clark est bien connue du public. À titre d’animatrice et fondatrice de Beyond Politics, une émission hebdomadaire de CPAC, Catherine s’entretient avec des parlementaires, des premiers ministres provinciaux et d’autres personnes influentes pour révéler la dimension humaine de la vie publique. Catherine est aussi une conférencière et maîtresse de cérémonies très sollicitée qui écrit la chronique « Giving Back », publiée dans Ottawa at Home Magazine, présentant les portraits de gens qui améliorent la vie de leurs concitoyens.