The Story of Beechwood Cemetery

Did You Know?

The Story of Beechwood Cemetery

Beechwood Cemetery is the National Cemetery of Canada. It’s the final resting place of over 75, 000 Canadians, including prime ministers, soldiers and members of the public who have helped shape our country. Inaugurated in 1873, over the years, Beechwood Cemetery has evolved into an important part of national heritage, preserving Canada’s history and identity. Puneet Birgi brings us more on the history of this National Historic Site.

About

image - Heather Seaman

Heather Seaman

A jack of all trades journalist with experience as a news writer, editor, reporter, anchor, host and videographer, Heather brings viewers on-the-ground stories from political and community events. She is a reporter on Outburst and special features and previously acted as correspondent for On the Bright Side. Prior to joining CPAC, she worked for several major broadcasters across Ontario, graduating from Seneca College’s Radio and Television Broadcasting Program with high honours.

image - Philippe Murat

Philippe Murat

Philippe Murat is a veteran of political reporting. He was legislative reporter for Radio-Canada in Victoria for seven years and for L’Acadie Nouvelle in Fredericton for three years. He has worked as a regional correspondent for Radio-Canada International in Halifax and Toronto. Moreover, he has covered provincial and federal elections and referendums in eight provinces and one territory, as well as the May 2000 parliamentary elections in Haiti. Philippe has reported from the Hibernia oil platform, off the coast of Newfoundland, aboard the frigate HMCS Ville de Québec and from Alaska during the 2007 Pacific North West Economic Region Summit in Anchorage, Alaska.

L’histoire du Cimetière Beechwood

Did You Know?

L’histoire du Cimetière Beechwood

Le cimetière Beechwood est le Cimetière national du Canada. C’est le lieu du dernier repos de plus de 75 000 Canadiens, incluant des Premiers ministres du Canada, des soldats et des citoyens ayant contribué à façonner notre pays. Inauguré en 1873, le Cimetière Beechwood a évolué au fil des ans pour devenir un élément important de notre patrimoine national où l’histoire et l’identité du Canada sont préservées. Puneet Birgi nous en dit plus sur le passé de ce lieu historique national.

Un mot sur...

image - Heather Seaman

Heather Seaman

Journaliste polyvalente ayant travaillé comme lectrice/rédactrice des nouvelles, monteuse, animatrice et vidéo-journaliste, Heather présente des reportages “de terrain” consacrés à des événements politiques et communautaires. Journaliste à l’émission Outburst et pour des séries spéciales, elle a été collaboratrice de l’émission On The Bright Side. Avant d’arriver à CPAC, elle a travaillé pour plusieurs radiodiffuseurs importants en Ontario, et elle est diplômée du Programme de radiodiffusion et télévision de Seneca College.

image - Philippe Murat

Philippe Murat

Philippe Murat est un vétéran de l’information politique. Il a été correspondant parlementaire de Radio-Canada à Victoria pendant sept ans et pour L’Acadie Nouvelle à Fredericton durant trois années. Il a été correspondant régional de Radio Canada International à Halifax et à Toronto. De plus, il a couvert des scrutins et des référendums provinciaux et fédéraux dans huit provinces et un territoire ainsi que les élections législatives de mai 2000 en Haïti. Philippe a également présenté des reportages à bord de la plate-forme Hibernia et de la frégate NCSM Ville de Québec, et en 2007, il a couvert le Sommet de la Région économique du Nord-Ouest du Pacifique, à Anchorage, en Alaska.